Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to

agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty

member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful

than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges

and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code

and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely

monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of

thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in

place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this

figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of

Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor

code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations

that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your

explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the argument claims that based on the evidence, the academic honor code is more successful than other method. He provides an example of a college which adopted the honor code and explains that in comparison with the oldest method the number of reported cheating cases have decreased by use of the honor code. However, the explanations mentioned in the argument are based on fallacious assumptions and it will need alternative explanations that likely be accounted for the premises.

First of all, teachers from Groveton College had reported thirty cheating cases per year before adopting the honor code. But, in the first year with honor code, students reported nine cheating cases less than before. It’s possible that there is a difference between the reports from the teachers and the reports from students. Therefore, the author cannot compare these two reports because the students might have not reported honestly. Also, it should be considered that it’s plausible that students who attend Groveton College in the first year of adopting honor code, have stronger educational background and they did not need to cheat. Therefore, the number of reported cheating decreased. Furthermore, it’s said that five years later the number of reported cheating decreased to fourteen. There is no precise students’ demographics during these five years. Perhaps, the whole number of students had declined and as a result the number of cheating diminished. It’s possible that the ratio of students who cheat to the total of number of students had remained constant.

Moreover, the author implies that based on a survey, most of the students of Groveton College stated that they would less likely to cheat with the honor code. The author should describe more about the survey. The number of students who participated the survey, the methodology that used in that survey and the whole questions that were in it are all not mentioned. Maybe the survey is mostly about students’ study habits and only few and vague questions are about the honor code. Also, it’s likely that only strong students who hardly ever cheat, took apart to that survey. For more accurate conclusion about the survey, it should be more specific and clearer in its procedure.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably based on flawed explanations and it needs more and precise explanation to be solid. The academic honor code would be more successful that the older method, but it requires more valid explanations about the evidence which suggest this premise.