The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a

ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only

one-half that of five years ago. Thus, the number of students enrolled in our

public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce

the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time,

we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational

facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities

and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult

population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to

evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

The committee recommend decline the education budget and the budget for athletic playing fields during the next ten-years. They claim that the adult population will increase in Calatrava. The committee assume some unwarranted assumptions, and as a result, the recommendation seems unsound. Therefore, they need to examine some concrete evidence to reach to a more accurate and logical decision.

First of all, the committee use the last year’s birth-rate to conclude that the total birth-rate is decreasing. It would not be a logical and solid evidence for deciding about the next decade’s population and budget. It’s possible that last year was an exception in the past five years. For example, in the last year, due to the COVID, many couples decided to postpone to have a child because they felt insecure about the world’s future and their health. However, now, after the broad vaccinations, they would feel better to bring a child to this world. There is no guarantee that in the next ten year, the population will not grow. Maybe, Calatrava has attracted other people to move to this city with their children due to its current education and sport facilities. Therefore, the committee cannot take the last year’s statistics as a solid evidence. It’s likely that in the next future, the birthrate or the children population will be increased. If this evidence proves to be true, the recommendation will be invalid.

Moreover, the committee assume that the recreational facilities and the athletic playing fields would not be used as before and they can reduce this part’s budget. There is no accurate evidence in the argument that who used these facilities. Perhaps, the adult population always use playing fields sports and use the recreational facilities. Hence, reducing the budget for these sections would not be a great idea. The argument fails to provide any evidence about the age ranges that used this facilities and sport. With having this information, the committee will recommend a more helpful plan for Calatrava.

All in all, the original argument, as it stands now, if flawed due to the lack of concrete evidence. The committee examine some pieces of evidence and maybe use a systematic study to be able to reach a conclusion about Calatrava planning budget for the next ten years.