Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Living in the heyday of technology, we are witnessing numerous discoveries and creations. Researchers and creators spend their lifetimes to come up with new discoveries or creations. This is not true that many important discoveries or creations are accidental, happened when trying to answer one question while coming across the answer to another.

While there are some instances that the researchers come across, accidentally, to a discovery, mostly, discoveries are due to a pre-planned effort. We cannot ignore that Columbus discovered America, a new continent, by accident when he was on his rout to West Indies. Or Penicillin, the earliest antibiotics, discovered by Fleming accidentally.

However, the majority of discoveries occur with a great teamwork effort and a clear goal. Researchers, normally, plan their research in advance and define a specific goal for them. Haphazardly, they could not reach an outstanding achievement. There are too many examples in history that confirm this fact. Consider the COVID pandemic as an example. During the pandemic, scientist all around the world became determined to discover the COVID vaccine. Many scientists gathered to gather and as a powerful team, put all of their energy into finding the vaccine. Without a strong teamwork, and a clear goal, they could not succeed to discover the COVID vaccine. Great discoveries would not be reached accidentally.

In the past, when technology was not advanced as today, it was more common that a discovery or creation happened by accident. There were not as many achievements as nowadays, and scientists did not have advanced tools. Therefore, it was likely that during their research, they encounter with a new discovery by chance. Nevertheless, today, with numerous advanced and technological tools, scientists have a better vision about what they are looking for and with persistent, they will achieve novel discoveries.

In conclusion, some might argue that there are examples that show that scientists find a solution or discover a new finding accidentally, but as a whole, an astonishing discovery or creation cannot be achieved without a great planning and a skillful teamwork.