The following is a memo from the marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores, which operates thirty pet stores worldwide.

“Five years ago, our competitor Fish Emporium started advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine. Their sales overall have seen a steady increase of 3-to-5 percent per year since then. In fact, the Fish Emporium store in Gulf City saw even more remarkable gains, becoming the most visited pet store in the United States last year. Meanwhile, our two Lamfonz stores in Gulf City have seen sales steadily decline during the same period. It seems clear that we should immediately begin placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly and other popular pet magazines. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse this recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again.”

The marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores is concerned with their recent trend of declining sales, so he uses their competitor's experience in advertising to recommend how to compensate their loss and start making profit. To justify his claim, the author makes some unwarranted assumptions that are due the lack of concrete evidenc ehich render the argument fallacious. The marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores should consider examining further pieces of evidence.

First of all, the author mentions that their competitor used advertisement in Exotic Pets Magazine, five years ago. Do they still have advertisement in that magazine? There is no evidence in the argument that shows that Fish Emporium has continued advertsing in Exotic Pets Magazine. It's possible that they have used other source of advertising rather than popular magazines, such as urban bilboards. The author should examine further evidence about the recent method of advertising used by their cometitor. If they have changed their advertising methods, then the argument won't hold water.

Moreover, the author should consider examining other factors that might play roles in their competitor's success. It's possible that their competitor's quality of products are better than theirs. People won't continue buying a product if they are not satisfied by it. Therefore, the author should conduct a study to examine deeper the main reason for their competitor's triumph in attracting customers. If there are other reason than just advertising in popular magazines, then the recommendation of using advertiements in popular magazines won't help Lamfonz to start make profit. Also, the Fish Emprium store in Gulf City is becoming the most visited pet store in America, last year. There is no evidence in the argument that proves that advertisement in famous magazines was reponsible for this fact. Likewise, more visitors is equal to more sales? The author fails to provide evidence about the correlation between the most visited pet store and higher sales. Perhaps, Fish Emporioum stores in Gulf City did not have higher sales than Lamfonz stores in Gulf City and just have higher visitors.

Finally, the author should use a strongly employed survey to ask people's opinion about Lamfonz products' quality? If their products are not as qualified as their competitor's, then by just advertisments they cannot revers their declining sales. They should first work on their products to improve their qualities and then they can revers the declining sales.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to the lack of sufficient evidence. Therefore, the author should consider examining other evidence to be able to write a more convincing argument with strong recommendation that could help their stores to revers their declining sales and start making profits.