In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Humans are capable and intelligent creatures that can achieve whatever they want. They use all of their abilities to move the boundaries of their achievements. They would use either their imaginations or knowledge to advance. However, it’s not correct that in the majority of the professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than information and knowledge.

To begin with, we cannot ignore that imagination is the most important part of the various fields. In fact, fields that need creativity, such as painting, music, writing and so forth, imagination plays a significant role in course of creating the novel painting, song, and a piece of writing. Artists should primarily use their imaginations to create a piece of art that will be unique among others. In these fields, knowledge would be inferior in comparison to imagination. However, in other fields such as scientific fields, knowledge plays the main role in achieving the goals. The number of fields that require great deal of information rather than imagination is higher than the number of areas that need mostly imagination. Therefore, the statement is incorrect in this way.

Numerous fields such as Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Astronomy, etc. have built upon the past achievements reached by the past scholars. No one without sufficient knowledge about the basic rules of Mathematics or Physics cannot do research in these fields. Every piece of knowledge in the scientific fields is like the rings of a chain that continues the previous information. Therefore, a freshman majoring, for example, in Physics is less likely to reach an outstanding achievement in Quantum. He must first, pass many courses in the university to obtain the requirements and necessary knowledge about the basics of Quantum, and ultimately and probably in the graduate school he will do research in Quantum field and reach an achievement. Imagination won’t be an important part in such fields. Also, these scientific fields are based on the logics and everything that is logical needs enough information, and not the imagination, to remain in its correct logic.

Moreover, many practical fields and professions need experience and hours of work rather than imagination. Surgeons, for instance, to become capable of operating a patient, successfully, must pass hundreds of hours practicing and observing surgeries. Patients expect their surgeon to be skillful and well-experienced, rather than having a good imagination. Likewise, many professions are required to pass a specific amount of time in internships to gain enough experience and knowledge. Therefore, imagination has no place in such fields.

All in all, it would be unfair that we ignore imagination in the abstract fields such as art, but in the most fields of science, knowledge plays the most important role in the achievements.