Claim No act is done purely for the benefit of others Reason All actions even those that seem to be done for other people are based on self interest

Today's world is more complex than ever in human history. The world gets more and more intricate so do the relations between peoples living in it. There are different opinions on the current peoples' relations and the main purpose behind them. Some people hold the idea that no one does an act for the sake of others neither in his or her closest relations, such as family members and intimate friends, nor superficially relations, such as a co-worker or a neighbour. In other words, they maintain that selfless good deeds do not exist at all. However, others with whom my standpoint is aligned believe that there are innumerable actions that people do in both profound and sketchy relations that can be deemed purely selfless. In what follows, I will delineate my viewpoint on the ground of two persuasive reasons.

Without a doubt, the most consequential point corroborating my stance on this subject is the relations that people create with their nearest circle, such as family members and intimate friends. Close friends and family members, most of the time, put aside their own desires and interests in their relations with each other. They do a thing and make a choice that benefits other family members or other friends more than themselves. For instance, consider a father of a family. He works industriously from early in the morning until late at night just to be able to create a promising future for his family. He knows that all the money he acquires does not belong to him but rather will spend on the things that his children or his wife desire. However, knowing this not only does pull him back, but it also stimulates him to put in more effort every day since he wants to see the happiness of his family. This is a very tangible example of selfless-good deeds that is evident to even the most parochial eyes.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is charitable actions. No one enjoys giving his or her own money freely to others. Nevertheless, many people, wealthy or not, allocate some of their annual income to charities. A low-minded one may assume that people help charities and others since they feel satisfied and happy deep inside. So they do this for their own good, not others. On the other hand, to fully understand the main purpose behind charitable deeds, one must see this action through more meticulous spectacles. The most apparent purpose is that, of course, people do these actions to cause a feeling of contentment in themselves, but they give their money, for which they have worked hard, and the feeling of losing money, regardless of its amount, is more powerful than only the superficial feeling of self-contend. Something more powerful must be in charge to make people give off their money. The happiness they create in those whom they help only can overcome the adverse feeling of losing money. People would not ever contribute money or other things to charities if nor for the sake of self-less inherit of this action.

To make the long story short, and reflecting upon all the aforementioned grounds, one soon realizes that there are so many examples, only two of which are mentioned above, that people do decent deeds purely for the benefit of others.