Do you agree or disagree with the following statement After completing high school students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university

There are different opinions on whether students should begin university studies immediately after graduating from high school or take a year off. Even though some people think that students must start their studies at the university soon after graduating from high school and should not dissipate their precious time, I believe otherwise, maintaining that spending one year off from studying benefits students in innumerable ways. To put it in other words, the advantages of one year breaking after high school graduation outweigh its disadvantages. In what follows, I will delve into the most persuasive reasons to substantiate my perspective.

Without a doubt, the most consequential reason corroborating my stance on this subject is that in this time spell, students can give their brain a rest by doing some other activities than studying. There are so many things students can do during this period that they might not have the opportunity to do after entering university; to enumerate, they can go on a trip with their friends, learn musical instruments, and do other extracurricular activities. Students can set their minds free of educational stuff and become prepared for the relatively hard time in the university. According to one survey, the students who take a break after graduation from high school get higher scores in their courses than those who do not. Therefore, this reason manifests that if students want to be prosperous in their future education in university, they are highly recommended to take at least a year break before entering university.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is that in this one-year period, the students have a chance to think about their future in a more relaxing situation. Choosing a major is one of the most momentous decisions that each person should make meticulously. During this one-year break-off, the students have the chance to serve as apprentices in some fields and decide in which field they are interested. Drawing from my own experience, I was in a dilemma of choosing aerospace engineering or transportation engineering as my major. Fortunately, with the help of my father and his connections, I was able to work for a spell of two months in each of these industries after my high school graduation. Eventually, I chose aerospace engineering, and today, I am so glad and convenient with this decision. If not for using one year break-off before I started my university education, I would not have chosen the right field of study and probably would not be as content as I am now. Thus, this point illustrates the fact that one year break after graduation has a significant impact on the future of students.

To make the long story short, many students are in favor of starting their higher education as fast as they can. Nevertheless, the foregoing points lead us to conclude that not only does one year break-off help them be more prosperous in their higher education, but it also provides them with the chance to choose the field of expertise that suits them the best.