Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Without a shadow of a doubt, a university plays a pivotal role in students' lives, not to mention its profound influence on their future occupations' formation. An unanswered question in this area is whether students should take a break before entering the university and spend a year working or traveling. Despite all the arguments asserting that pupils need to rest in order to increase their academic performance or improve new social and pragmatic skills through working, I believe otherwise, maintaining that students should immediately begin studying at university after graduating from high school. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

First and foremost, circumstances' consistency can assist students by facilitating the approach toward their goal. To put it more simply, continuous years of studying without any gap help students get accustomed to the university's environment readily. Besides, given the close association between lessons taught at high school and university, the less away from these lessons students are, the easier they will assimilate the subjects. On the other hand, considering the forgettable nature of some curriculums, it will be arduous for pupils to remember some meticulous details after a period, making it hard to keep up with the class flow. Therefore, students should prevent getting separated from studying conditions. For example, think of a graduated student from high school who tends to travel and visit multiple places before attending university. He will immerse in his trips to an extent that will thoroughly forget about being a student and the situations related to it. Afterward, it will be pretty hard to recall some points and study approaches. In addition, he can invariably be distracted by thinking about the places meanwhile the classes.

Another reason worthwhile mentioning is that although high school is a prerequisite for university, it does not provide the students with a comprehensive perspective for starting an occupation. In other words, students do not have adequate proficiency in essential skills required for working, which will be acquired during the university. It goes without saying, the performance of working in that period will be insufficient, making adolescents despondent since it makes them feel they are incompetent. However, if they try to work meanwhile their study at university, they can exploit their lessons in tandem with other social skills learned by communicating with various people. Moreover, students should learn how to deal with harsh conditions, which usually occur at universities, to become ready for taking on real responsibilities. For example, when students start work prior to the university, they might not be aware of many scientific aspects since they have not attended university. Besides, they may not get along with the vast spectrum of people working there due to the few friends they had at high school and not seeing various mindsets anywhere.

Reflecting upon all reasons mentioned above, one soon realizes that attending university right after graduating from high school is more beneficial for pupils. This is because not only have students fresh knowledge and studying habit from high school, but also they will learn dispensible expertise in order to exploit at work after attending university.