Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have friends who are intelligent than to have friends who have a good sense of humor.

Without a shadow of a doubt, In the given hectic life, Friends exert tremendous influence on every individual living in a myriad of facets. An unanswered question in this area is that whether making friends in regard to peoples' intellectual quotients is a superb approach or establishing relationships based on a good sense of humor. Despite all the arguments asserting that an excellent sense of humor and manner is a decisive factor while choosing friends, I believe otherwise, maintaining that selecting intelligent friends plays a pivotal role in amending ones' dominant lifestyle. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

First and foremost, Ones' personality is mostly affected by the close people surrounding them, and these intimate relationships are usually comprised of friends. In other words, People spend a substantial amount of time with their friends, like while they are at school or university, or going for a daily walk. Therefore, the unconscious implications of friends' attitudes on individuals' behaviors and mindsets will be inevitable in the long run. In addition, intelligence coupled with hard work seeds the plant of momentous achievements. As a result, allocating time to intercourse with ingenious people and getting their opinion for an advantageous approach to their target can help one expeditiously accomplish their goals. My personal experience is a persuasive example of this. During one of my courses at university, I grouped with a brilliant student to work on our final project, and I saw myself vastly thriving in both the project and my personal academic skills.

Another reason to be mentioned is that sometimes, getting through an arduous circumstance is better possible with advice from knowledgeable and smart friends who can make the justified decisions than friends who merely try to make you feel better and forget the dilemma. To put it more simply, while this situation occurs, intelligent friends help you choose the right way wisely because they have undergone such a situation and have got rid of it, or they can predict the consequences through lots of thinking. On the contrary, kind friends who make jokes or try to make you feel better do not really figure out a way to solve the problems and alleviate the obstacles, yet, they change ones' mood temporarily. Furthermore, they might try helping you end the situation with irrational decisions, or sometimes with irreversible results which have been made out of sentiments.

Reflecting upon all reasons mentioned above, one soon realizes that having intelligent friends is much more essential than friends that just have a good sense of humor, and as one has said: "If you want to know yourself, look at the 5 closest people around you".