Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have friends who are intelligent than to have friends who have a good sense of humor.

Since the emergence of mankind, humans have been seeking the establishment of interpersonal connections. Nowadays, they consider many characteristics while choosing their friends, and everyone has their own priority in this matter. While some people are willing to spend time with smart friends, others tend to have funny friends. Personally speaking, I am of the opinion that having friends who have a good sense of humor is more beneficial, especially in today’s world. The reasons and points to substantiate my point of view are elaborated hereunder.

The first reason is that the positive attitude of funny companions would help individuals to maintain much more stress-free lives. To put this into a more vivid picture, in today’s hectic era, people struggle with a substantial amount of cumulative stress caused by their academic or working lives. Doctors have proved that intense pressure can result in many inevitable repercussions such as heart attack, severe hair loss, depression, and even shorten their life spans. They have also discovered that much of the daily stress people are undergone, can be released through humorous and vibrant conversations with friends, and aid people in finding serenity in their lives. For instance, Back in the time when I was a student at university, I used to socialize with a bunch of friends who were always cracking jokes around our schoolwork and other issues we might have encountered during the semester. Whenever I was under the pressure of writing my assignment, I went to their place and started to have a chat with them. We spent hours laughing at different subjects and tried to make our school-related problems look insignificant in our eyes. Consequently, when I returned home, I could concentrate better on my projects without being anxious.

In addition, by hanging out with friends who have a good sense of humor, people would be able to expand their social circle. To be more specific, according to a recent study, scientists have found that people with a humorous personality are more successful in establishing new and permanent connections with others because other people, generally, tend to welcome them with open arms. Needless to say, the concept of mutual friends clearly demonstrate that many new friendships usually start to form by the help of our existing peers, who made ourselves acquainted with their own friends. Therefore, if people have interpersonal communication with funny friends, it is crystal clear that their chance of making new friends will increase, which can assist them in their future lives as well. My own example is a compelling example of this. Continuing my previous experience of hanging out with my humorous squad, my sociable funny friends used to hold a party in their house and invite almost all of their friends. I was not an exception, as well. In these monthly parties, I was able to make around fifty other like-minded individuals and enjoy spending time with them. Although some of these friendships have been disappeared after a while, most of them continued until the present day. As a result, having graduated from university for three years, I still do not feel lonely, and I can enjoy the companionship of these wonderful friends I have made.

In a nutshell, taking the reasons and point mentioned above, one could conclude that being friends with people who have a good sense of humor is more beneficial. Not only do funny friends help individuals to reduce their stress and anxiety but also they would ease the path of making new friends for people around them.