A high school that normally gives students about two months of time off from school during the summer is introducing a new educational requirement for students in eleventh grade (ages 16-17) over the summer; students have the following two options to fulfill the new requirement.

a. They can attend classes each day for several weeks to complete a university level course on a subject that they are considering selecting as their major field of study at university.

b. They can spend several weeks traveling to museums and historic places in their area with a group of students guided by a teacher and then write a paper of their experience.

Which one of these options do you think would be most beneficial for students and why?

It goes without saying that in today’s academic environemnt, schools require students to take different courses in order to graduate. If a high school wants to offer a new summer course requirement, I believe that spending several weeks traveling to different museums and historic areas to write a paper of their experience is much more advantageous for teenage students rather than attending regular classes in summer time to pass a course related to their future major. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, visiting different historical places like museums, these young students would be able to gain some hands-on experience, thereby making it easier for them to recall what they have learned during the trips to write their assignment. To be more specific, by spending time on traveling to museums, they would be provided with various interesting experiences. For instance, learning about different cultures, conventions, and traditional aspects of past generations will help them to burden their horizon and see things differently. Therefore, when visiting and learning these pieces of invaluable information, they can form a vivid picture in their mind, aiding them in remembering their acquired knowledge during the trips easily and accurately. It is crystal clear that under such circumstances, these adolescents will be able to obtain higher scores for their detailed papers, which is much more helpful for them when they want to get addmission from universities in the future if they have a higher overall GPA.

Furthermore, going on trips to different places helps students to gain peace of mind and a sense of relaxation, thereby improving their productivity when they return to their regular classes starting the next semester. To put this into a more vivid picture, summer time is a period in which students want to get rid of all the pressure they had to tolerate during school time. It is safe to say thay if a university wants to force them to attend classes just like they do in other seasons, they feel overwhelmed, and this extra tension will lower their productivity in the long run. However, traveling would be an opportunity to soothe their minds and release their cumulative stress, causing them to be refreshed and enthusiastic for starting the next semester.

As shown above, considering all the reasons and points mentioned above, one could conclude that it is much more beneficial for teenage students to experience taveling to museums and historic places and write a paper based on their experience. It is because they can write their paper in detail by being able to recall memories more vividly if they have visited somewhere in person, and because it will refresh their mind and cause them to be more productive starting the new semester.