A high school that normally gives students about two months of time off from school during the summer is introducing a new educational requirement for students in eleventh grade (ages 16-17) over the summer; students have the following two options to fulfill the new requirement.

- They can attend classes each day for several weeks to complete a university-level course on a subject that they are considering selecting as their major field of study at university.

- They can spend several weeks traveling to museums and historic places in their area with a group of students guided by a teacher and then write a paper of their experience.

Which one of these options do you think would be most beneficial for students and why?

Nowadays, schools have different methods in order to train their students and enhance their knowledge. Although some people believe that attending many classes will provide a chance for students to improve their information, personally, I strongly believe that some practical activities, such as visiting museums, have more benefits for them. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, visiting historical places will pave the way for students to be familiar with different cultures. To be more specific, traveling to historical places enhance students' knowledge, this is because it paves the way for them to be aware of different people who live in the past and learn about their cultures and believes. Most of the museums have experts guide tours which have a lot of information about people who live in the past, and they share this useful information with us. My own experience is a compelling example of what I mean. Last year, during my summer break my school had a historical tour in some historical places. During a tour, we visited a lot of ancient places and some museums. The museum had such an up to dated technology. It had many digital desktops on walls that continually played some movies related to ancient people. Moreover, it had different rooms that had smart navigators and whenever some visitors entered the rooms it started to play and explain different ancient stuff such as pots and old guns in the room. That tour completely changed my opinion about people who lived in the past and understood that they were such talented people.

Moreover, traveling with other students that are of the same age will improve students’ social skills. To be more specific, if students are supposed to visit some places and after that wire a report about their travel, it will provide a chance for them to communicate with each other about their duties and share some activities. Therefore, they should manage some different tasks to have a comprehensive report. For instance, as I mentioned in the example in the past paragraph two of my friends and I supposed to write a report about our trip. Therefore, before our trip, we had many meetings and managed some activities; hence, I had to have an interview with a person who was a guide of the museum, while other students were visiting different parts of the museum. He was such a nice and expert person and not only sated me a lot of useful information, but he introduces two books related to the period of ancient times that I was interested in.

In conclusion, according to all the reasons and examples, I believe that having some practical activities have more benefits for students. This is because not only do they improve students' information, but they enhance students' social skills.