Some adults believe that, nowadays, children’s behavior is worse than children’s behavior was in the past. These adults have suggested three actions that parents can do to help children ages 5-10 behave better (for example by speaking more respectfully to adults or acting more kindly toward others). Which one action that parents can do might have the most positive effect on their children’s behavior? Why?

- Limiting the types of television programs and movies their children can watch

- Spending more time talking with their children

- Supervising or monitoring more closely what their children do when they play with their friends

Nowadays, due to some complicated reasons, children are more aggressive compared to children who live in the past. Among the above three options, personally, I am on the side of people who strongly believe that parents should spend more time to talk with their children and ask them to be polite. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, parents have important effects on their children, so children pay more attention to them and obey their words. To be more specific, children are really dependent on their parents in many ways in their life, and they believe in their parents’ manner and words, and parents are their only mature reference for them; hence, if parents choose an appropriate method to talk with their children, they will solve children's problems. My own experience is a compelling example of what I mean. I have a seven years old son, and recently he shows some unusual manners and uses bad words when he speaks with his friends. Moreover, I have a good relationship with him, and during his life, I have tried to be one of his best friends. Therefore, I went out with him to a park, where he really likes to be, and during our visit, I talk to him about this problem and told him that how much it is important to be kind and polite with others in our life. I know that he accepts me because he believes in me as his friend and my works have a lot of effects on him.

Moreover, talking with our children will provide a chance for them to release their distress, which might be the causes of some of their impolite manner. To put it in other words, children experience many new and unusual problems and situations in their life, which makes a lot of problems and stress for them. Therefore, parents are the main person in their life that can make them calm and easy, and encourage them to control their manners. For instance, as I mentioned in the example in the past paragraph, I knew that the main reasons for my son’s bad manners. He starts school this year, and he is not used to be apart from his mother for a long time. Moreover, he is an introverted and shy person, and as a result, communicating with new children make a lot of stress for him. Therefore, visiting the park and spending time together makes him calm and helps him to release his distress, and after that, he can control himself.

In conclusion, according to all the reasons and examples, I strongly believe that parents should spend more time with their children to help them. This is because not only do their children pay more attention to them, but they are able to make their children calm.