At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective and why?

- Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated.

- Increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating

- Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

Nowadays, schools have different problems with their students in order to teach them and help them to improve their knowledge, and they should find the best way to solve these problems. Among the above three options, I believe that just the latest one may work for schools to stop their students and do not let them cheat. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, teachers are up to date compare to the parents and are aware of different methods that students may use for cheating. To be more specific, in order to make a better life, parents have to work a lot, and they are busy with their tasks to gain more money for their family lives; hence, they do not any time to allocate for controlling their children when they are doing their homework. Moreover, they finished their study a long time ago, and they are not aware of new methods of the educational system and of course the new methods that students use for cheating. My own experience is a compelling example of what I mean. I have sixteen years old children, and he is a school student. His teacher asked me to pay more attention to him whenever he is doing his homework. It was because they want to control students and do let them share answers to question with each other rather than doing them by themselves. Therefore, I did my best, and when he was doing his homework, I stayed in his room and control his activities, and did not let him use his books or use his notes. However, I did not know that his friend and he made a channel in WhatsApp application on their smartphone, and they share the answer to questions there.

Moreover, I believe that increasing the penalty by schools will harm students' interest to continue their education. To put it in other words, although schools may have some restricted rolls against cheating for their student, it may decrease students’ attention to study, this is because, sometimes punishing students may make a bad dream for them, and as a result, they miss their interest to continue their educations. For instance, twenty years ago, when I was a school student, I had some health problems, and I have to spend most of my time in hospitals. Thus, I could not able to do my home by myself, and I got the answer from my classmate. Therefore, my teacher understood what I am doing and forced me to do a lot of homework. I did whatever he wants while I was too sick, and I experienced a lot of worse time. These bad decisions against my manner did not let me to attracted to university and leave my education. Consequently, I miss a lot of job opportunities and get a simple job with a low salary.

In conclusion, according to all the reasons and examples, I believe that teachers are able to stop students from cheating. This is because, parents are not aware of new cheating methods, and punishing may harm students’ future lives.