At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective and why?

• Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated.

• Increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating

• Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

It is incontrovertible fact that cheating in everything is an unethical behavior, and it should be stopped especially at schools where individuals’ personality is forming. Although some people think that punishment or monitoring by parents is an effective way in order to decrease cheating among students, I, personally, do believe that teachers are persons who can have more impact on students for two reasons which are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, teachers have more information about students’ academic performance rather than parents. They observe students’ behavior in different situations and usually know each student’s “weaknesses and strengths” point. On the other hand, with technologies such as the Internet and cell phone, it is impossible for parents to know all their children’ classmates, and control their relationship. Moreover, most of the parents usually help their children in the face of such situations instead of forcing them to solve assignments alone. Therefore, teachers possibly have better control and can easily find which students are more prone to cheating. These students usually have some reasons for cheating, one of which is anxiety regarding a good score. Needless to say that, the primary purpose of an assignment is helping students’ learning process. As far as I am concerned, asking students solve their assignments in some groups, not only can increase individuals’ motivation for learning but can help them do their best so that having better academic performance as well. Indeed, in such atmosphere, students will work together without any stress for evaluation and there is no reason for cheating.

Additionally, punishment can bring far-reaching negative consequences rather than positive effects in the process of teaching and learning. As Robert Baden-Powell once said, “Correcting bad habits cannot be done by forbidding or punishment.” It is obvious that punishing a person can result in ashamed and feeling of worthless for him or her. Therefore, it is more likely to distort one’s motivation, to culminate in a destructive experience, and to make a bad relationship between a student and his or her teacher. However, a teacher can easily reveal the nature of cheating for students by speaking about it. For instance, “Imagine you are a farmer who works hard most of a year, days and nights, to yield good crops, is it fair if someone comes and steals all crops right at the time of harvest? ” one of my teachers always said. Furthermore, he never punished us because of being unaware and doing a wrong behavior. By doing so, he taught us how unfair and immoral cheating and made us think about it. As a result, I suppose, by such ethical lessons instead of punishment students never let themselves to circumvent rules.

In the light of these critical points, I strictly believe that the modification of students’ evaluation ways and teachers’ morality lessons are more useful than punishment or parents’ monitoring. Indeed, teachers who spent many a year of their lives in the way of training and making the personality of people can play an important role in the decrease of cheating.