Your friend has the opportunity to study in either one of two majors (fields of study). Which one of the following two types of majors do you think is a better choice and why?

- A major that would allow your friend to complete his or her studies and get a degree faster so that your friend can start working full-time soon

- A major that would require more years of study but is likely to lead to more and better employment opportunities and job offers in the future.

Nowadays, in order to have better job opportunities and more income, we should have enough information and knowledge, and universities are the best places to give us these requirements. Although some people believe that if they spend more time in universities, they will have better job opportunities in the future, personally, I am on the side of people who believe that a short period of studying at universities has more benefits for students to find a job and for their lives. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, graduating from a university very fast, and starting a full-time job will improve students’ self-confidence. To be more specific, during studying at universities, students do not have any income, and they are dependent on their parents for money. Therefore, whenever they finish studying at universities and get a job, they can have their own job and salary, and it will pave the way for them to have their own income and money. My own experience is a compelling example of what I mean. Ten years ago, one of my friends and I continue our study/education at university. I decided to get a master’s, and he chose to get Ph.D. Therefore, I had this chance to finish my study and get a job sooner than my friend. During studying at university we did not have any income, and we had to get loans from banks or try to get some scholarships. Therefore, we had too bad financial situations. Since I finish my study two years faster than my friend, so it provided a chance for me to find a job and enhanced my financial situation, but my friend, because decided to get Ph.D., had to study two years after my and try to adapt himself with his limited money.

Moreover, get a degree from a university sooner and start a job will provide a chance for students to gain useful experiences. To put it in other words, although universities and academic atmosphere are appropriate situations for students to learn and gain some basic and useful information, due to the lack of their practical courses, students are not able to take some practical courses, which gave them some useful experiences that are necessary for them the future at their job. On the other hand, working will teach them a lot of perfect practical knowledge. For instance, as I mentioned in the example in the past paragraph, after my graduation, when I get my master’s, I had this chance to find a job. When I started my job, I founded that all the materials that I learned in the university were too basic and there were a lot of things that I had to learn during my job. Working taught me how to communicate with different people and improve my ability to work as a team member.

In conclusion, according to all the examples and reasons, I believe that students should spend a shorter time in universities and start their job as soon as possible. This is because it will help them to be independent and learn some get some useful abilities.