Your friend has the opportunity to study in either one of two majors (fields of study). Which one of the following two types of majors do you think is a better choice and why?

- A major that would allow your friend to complete his or her studies and get a degree faster (so that your friend can start working full-time soon).

- A major that would require more years of study but is likely to lead to more and better employment opportunities and job offers in the future.

It comes with no doubt that choosing a studying major is one of the most important decisions we make in our life. We have two types of majors which are short-time studies and long-time studies. I am of the opinion that majors which take longer studying period yet lead to better job opportunities are more worthful. I believe in this for two reasons I explore in this essay.

To commence with, jobs that require a higher degree have a much better salary. When we studied longer and got a high degree in a major, we would find a much better job as a result of being able to apply for better positions. For instance, a friend of mine was deciding between two options. First, a two-year course in radiology and working in a hospital. Second, studying for about 4 years and become a nurse. Finally, he chose the first one to start working fulltime sooner. However, he is still working there, he feels regretful for not taking the second one and now earning at least a doubled salary. This is the reason I state that it is worthy to study for longer years but earn much better money.

In addition, not only is working in a big company pleasing, but also it has much better and faster progression opportunities. Being of longer study and a better degree, people can work in bigger companies which have more job promotions possibility. My own experience is a compelling example of this. After my Ph.D. in Pharmacology, I could get a great job in one of the most famous pharmacy companies. Moreover, now I am one of the owners. I could apply for that job first because of my Ph.D., otherwise, I could have never been hired in that great company. I suggest choosing a major that you can have great job promotions opportunities after hiring.

In conclusion I believe that Studying a major that takes a longer period but brings a better future is beneficial. It is because of a better annual salary and because of more job progressions opportunities, which can make life more pleasant.