Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Nowadays, most of the high school students, in order to have a high level of education, continue their education at universities after the graduation from their schools. Although some people believe that student should begin their study after high schools without any break, I am on the side of people who strongly believe that student should have at least one year off to have the chance of working. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, one year working/ working for whole year after high school will improve students' self-confidence. To be more specific, during working, students have the chances to make money for themselves or improved their social skills through communicating with different people with a variety of personalities, their social skills will improve. Then, this provide a chance for them to believe in themselves and get ready for a university, which have a completely different atmosphere compare to high schools. My own experience is a compelling example of what I mean. Ten years ago, I finished my study at high school, and my father encouraged me to have one year rest and work with him at this store. Working with my father paved the way for me to have my own salary and income; hence, I had his chance to buy whatever I want. In fact, I was able to make my own decision, and I was not dependent on my father. Moreover, because I used to be a shy person, working in my father store, provided a situation for me to talk with different people in a day and improve my personality. Thus, all of these benefits was too useful for me and enhanced my self-confidence and made me ready for university, which is a place for mature person.

Moreover, having/taking one year off after high school will help students to select a field that they are more interested in. To put it in other words, working after high school make a situation for us to be more aware of our preferences and interests. Therefore, we make a correct decision and will choose a field of study that best fit our purposes, and as a result, we will have a better performance during our education. For instance, as I mentioned in the example in the past paragraph, working in my father store helped me to understand about my talent and interest in computer science. One year working there, made me more motivated to know more about information technology and machine learning. My interest in computer science encouraged me to study hard and be a smart student with high GPA during my education, and now, I am so happy because of my correct decision.

In conclusion, according to all the reasons and examples, I strongly believe that students must have one year off after their schools to have a chance of working. This is because this way not only improves their self-confidence but will help them to have a better decisions for their field of study.