Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, according to the rate of improvement of technology, this is very important for people in society and the government to pay more attention to the new technology and their benefits. Personally, I strongly believe that governments should provide a situation for people to have free Internet access. I feel this way for two reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

To begin with, I believe that having free access to the internet will pave the way for people to save their time. To put it in other words, according to the new technology many new facilities and applications have been invented that work with computers and having access to the Internet. Therefore, people can stay at their homes and do their tasks as quickly as possible, even less than a blink of an eye rather than go out and waste their time to do some simple duties. For instance, five years ago, I used to ask a loan from a bank by going to the bank during heavy traffic and filled a lot of forms that took lots of time, but, today, I can order for a loan from a bank by turning on my computer and connect to the Internet, then go to the website, and finally, do some clicks. Moreover, I do all of these works form my office in less than five minutes. So, the Internet helps me to save my time and allocate it in other ways that I prefer.

Moreover, if governments pay more attention to provide access to the Internet for their citizens, in fact, they will help people to save money. To be more specific, in this way governments will encourage people to do their duties at their home rather than use their personal car or public transportation and go out to do their tasks. This is because having access to the internet will help us to do lots of our tasks at home. Consequently, in this way, we do not have to go out and pay for some regular costs for our car. For example, as I mentioned in the example in the past paragraph, because I can do all of my tasks by the internet, I never use my car to go bank, and as a result, I spend less money to fuel, gas or some unpredictable happening such as an accident. Therefore, governments will provide a chance for me to save money.

In conclusion, according to all the reasons and examples, I strongly believe that governments should offer Internet access to citizens. This is because in this way, not only people can save their time, but they can save their money.