Which one of the following values is the most important to share with a young child (5-10 years old)?

1. Being helpful

2. Being honest

3. Being well-organized.

It is very important to pay more attention to young children and do our best to teach them useful things when they are at their first steps in life. Personally, I believe that it has more benefits for young children to learn how to be helpful in their life. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, learning to be helpful will provide a chance for a child to improve his social skills. To be more specific, in order to help other people in a society, we teach our children how to communicate and socialize with others to find their needs, then they have the chance for giving them a hand. Therefore, being helpful indirectly will teach our child to make a friendly relationship with others. My own experience is a compelling example of what I mean. Twenty years ago, before starting school, I went to a kindergarten near my home, which had a lot of children my age, and we enjoyed playing with each other. My father usually encouraged me to help my friends during playing a game and share my stuff with them, even he told me to give them my food. Thus, because I wanted and enjoyed helping them and did what my father wanted, I should make a friendly relationship with them, while they had different manner and personality. So, I learn to befriend children too younger than and older than me.

Moreover, being helpful will improve young children’s self-confidence. To put it in other words, when a child learns to be helpful and effective in his life, he is able to see the effect of his good manner and how others benefit from him. Thus, he knows that there are people that he can solve their problems, and it improves their self-confidence. For instance, as I mentioned in the example in the past paragraph, not only sharing my food during lunchtime and helping other young children during play games improve my social skills but have a lot of useful effects on my personality. This was because I did understand that I was able to give some hands to my friend and solve their problems. I can remember that during lunchtime one of the children in our kindergarten did not bring his food and he was too hungry. I shared my food with him, while I was too hungry, shared my food with him and after lunch I still was hungry, but I enjoy helping him.

In conclusion, according to all the reasons and examples, I strongly believe that young children should learn to be helpful. This is because in this way, not only their social skills will improve but their self-confidence is improved.