Imagine that you plan to donate money to charity to help people in need. If you could give money to only one type of charitable organization, which one of the following would you choose and why?

- An organization that provides food and housing to people in need

- An organization that gives people money to start their own small business

- An organization that provides medical care to people in need.

It is no secret that most of the people feel sympathy and concern for other impoverished people in their society. Everyone has their own way of helping others. One of the easiest ways to participate in humanitarian activities is to donate money. While some may decide to share some amount of money to provide either food and dwelling or treatment for needy members of the community, I am of the opinion that giving financial support to those who want to establish their own business is more beneficial. The reasons to substantiate my point of view are elaborated hereunder.

First of all, funding gifted adults who are suffering from depression, simply because they are not able to run their own business successfully, will improve their sense of satisfaction. To be more specific, talent is not all a person needs in order to build a prosperous business. Running a lucrative business requires people to invest large-sum money on meticulous market research in the first place. However, since many people could not afford to spend this amount of money, they usually retreat from doing so. As a result, successive failures in this area would have a negative influence on their self-esteem, resulting in an intense depression, which would negatively influence their sense of gratification in their lives. It goes without saying that had they been provided with enough funding to evaluate every aspect of their small business, they could have avoided probable future failure.

In addition, helping small firms to flourish will reduce the rate of unemployment in the community. To put this into a more vivid picture, nowadays, by the growth of population especially in urban areas, people have a hard time to land a job, causing many of them to undergo severe economic hardship. It is because renowned companies are willing to hire only exceptional employees that meet their long list of prerequisites including having several years of work experience, not to mention the handful of working positions they would offer to job-seekers. Needless to say, only a few numbers of people are eligible to be enlisted in these types of companies. On the other hand, a small business usually embarks its path of success by recruitment of young motivated individuals wishing to gain experience and show their potential in the long run. For instance, ten years ago, receiving funding from a charity corporation, my uncle was able to open his local workshop of creating housing ornamentations and crafts. He began to hire young girls with disadvantaged backgrounds who were not experienced in making handy crafts but enthusiastic enough about being financially independent. In a short period of time, by the help of these diligent workers, my uncle could make a considerable amount of profit, helping him to expand his business and even hire more people to work in his company.

In the light of the reasons mentioned above, one could conclude that the most effective way to contribute to society through charity is to help people to initiate their small business. Not only will it help talented individuals to be more satisfied with their life but also it will create more job opportunities for other job-hunters.