Imagine that you plan to donate money to charity to help people in need. If you could give money to only one type of charitable organization, which one of the following would you choose and why?

- An organization that provides food and housing to people in need

- An organization that gives people money to start their own small business

- An organization that provides medical care to people in need.

In this day and age, people confront various problems and hardships during their life, making others feel a duty for helping each other. Therefore, there are several organizations which receive a donation from people to help poor people. A question can be raised in this regard is which way is the best to spend the money to help people who are in need. Among different options which exist in this case such as providing foods and medical cares, I believe that using money in order to start small businesses for the people in need is superior. In the ensuing paragraphs, I will delve into the two main reasons to substantiate my point of view.

The first reason corroborating my opinion is that by helping people start their own businesses, they will be enabled to run their businesses themselves, which will result in a reduction of people in need after some time. In other word, one can buy their own food in this way, can provide medical care for their entire life, to name but a few, if they get able to make money by running their own businesses. It is worth mentioning that, if one starts his or her own job, they also can employ other people, which will lead to lower the unemployment rate in the community. My opinion about this matter is influenced by the experience of one of my friends, Jack, who is forty years old now. Ten years ago, since he had no job, he kept borrowing money from his father most of the time for almost seven years. After that, his father decided to support him starting his own business, managing a restaurant, rather than just lend him some money time to time. By doing so, Jack was able to not only provide his own needs by the money he earned through his business afterwards, but return the money he had borrowed for seven years. Had he not started his own job, he would not have been that independent. His father supporting him to start his business was also benefited other people as well, as Jack has employed twelve other persons to work in the restaurant. This example clearly manifests that if charity organization invest the money to help people start their own businesses, the number of the people in need will decrease over time.

The second reason supporting my idea is that the crime rate in a society will be reduced if people get financially independent by having a job. It is clear that every individual has a myriad of needs in their lives, which are not just about foods or medical cares. Owing to this fact, if they can not support themselves or their families, they will be more likely to get forced to do something against the law. As a statistical study backing up this issue, an investigation performed by a group of researchers at the University of Southern California in 2012 can be pointed out. They figured out the amount of crimes committed in a country has a direct relationship with the number of jobless people. With this in mind, it is clear that if people have no job, they are more prone to commit a crime. Therefore, if the money which is donated to the charity organization spend on providing jobs for poor people, it will lead to a safer community.

In conclusion, considering both the reasons mentioned above, one can readily infer that supporting people to have their own career is one of the most superior ways to spend money when helping people. Firstly, if one has a job, by earning money, she or he can buy the necessary things for a living. Secondly, the more people have jobs, the less crime occurs in a society, showing the importance of providing jobs for more people.