Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Some may argue that acts are done for the benefit of others. Alternatively, others say acts are done based on self-interest. I mostly agree with the latter claim and the reason given.

Firstly, acts of monetary donation can be driven by personal desires. Although these actions can be framed as a way of helping others, there are actually ulterior motives at play. Take, for example, the donation given by Jeff Besos, the CEO of Amazon, to climate preservation. The CEO was pressured to donate to the initiative to keep employees and the public happy. To the uninformed, his donation can be seen as an act of benevolence to society. However, those knowledgable can see that the donation was a means to placate the unruly public and maintaining a positive brand image. Additionally, those who donate money or items to charities can get a reduction on their taxes. Donators not only benefit others, but also themselves.

In the same way, acts of service are fueled by self-interest. College students who want to stand out to recruiters or admission directors will participate in as many activities as they can. Community service is one area that can make an applicant stand out. As a result, students will involve themselves with hospice, habitat for humanity, and other organizations whether they are interested or not. Through their actions, they bring joy to others, but also make themselves competitive for their future careers. Those who volunteer at a hospital may see the opportunity as a means to learn more about medicine.

However, I do not agree fully with the extent of the reason given for the claim. Not all actions stem from self-interest. There are those who partake in court ordered community service. In this instance, they are not motivated by self-interest and instead are carrying out their punishment. Another example is the current black lives matters movement.People who not a part of the african american community are standing in support to help attain justice for others. In this scenario, the supporters are involved for the betterment of human kind.

In summation, I mostly agree with the claim that no act is purely done for benefit of others and is motivated by self-interest. There are some cases, nonetheless, where actions are taken because there is no other options or because of a cause greater than oneself.