Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

There are many animals that existed a hundred years ago, but do not now. Could societal intervention have saved some near extinct animals? Some believe that society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction is due to human activity. I mostly agree with this claim, but would also like to make the point that society should make efforts to save endangered species when they have the means to do so.

Firstly, the society is obligated to repair the damage they have inflicted on nature. Nature was here before the buildings and homes were built. As the population burgeoned, humans started to encroach on nature. One example of society’s deleterious impact on nature is the Great Barrier Reef. Over the years, the once vibrant reefs have been bleached, due to water pollution from boating and other recreational activities. The reefs that once held an inchoate number of species is now not suitable to house them, bringing them to near extinction. Society should modify their behavior, so that the reef has time to recuperate and once again become the colorful reef that garnered attention from around the world.

Additionally, society should make efforts to save endangered species even if they were not due to human activities. Natural causes like tornados, tsunamis, and bushfires can cause harm to a species. If humans are equipped to handle such scenarios, it is in their best interest to do so. Take, for example, the Australian fires. They were caused by intense heat leading to a fire that lasted for six days. Without human intervention, it would have caused more damage than it did. Firefighters were able to rescue endangered animals, such as koalas, from the fire and bringing them to safety.

In summation, society should make efforts to save endangered species when the potential for extinction is because of human and natural activity. In doing so, we are not only keeping the animals best interest in mind, but also ours. Therefore, sometimes intervening during natural causes can lead to a deleterious affect, so intervention is only needed when it indirectly affects society as to not tilt the balance between human and animal.