Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

There are children out there who have talents that cannot be tapped into due to limited or lack of resources. The recommendation to provide training to children who have special talents is a plausible one. But, before this recommendation can be evaluated, I would like to clarify the terminology used.

How can one determine special talent? When thinking of special talents, one may typically start thinking of Einstein due to his intelligence. There are other fields in which one could be talented in such as the arts and sports. It depends on how well the piece is played, the song is sung, or how many points were scored. When it comes to cognitive function, an IQ test would be sufficient in determining outstanding from mediocre. However, in doing so, it brings up another question. What determines the threshold between special and ordinary? As special talents can be considered subjective, for the purpose of this essay, I define special talents as better than the average population.

If this is the case, then I mostly agree with the recommendation that society should provide training for such individuals to develop their talents, so that they can become the best individual they can be. In some cases, those in low socioeconomic read may not have the resources they need to expand on their talents. Hence, intervention from society can help bolster the potential for that child. But, instead of forcing children to train, it should be done voluntarily. What one is good at and what one enjoys is can be two different things. For example, a child from a family of athletes discovered their love for the arts during after school activities.

Nonetheless, providing training for children who do enjoy their talents can lead to stress, dissuading them from continuing. Parents play a large role in controlling what their child does, since they are in charge of their child’s well-being. Although their intent is pure, the pressure they can put on their child during the trainings can stress the child out and cause them to dislike the very thing they once enjoyed. Therefore, training needs to be done in moderation, keeping in mind to go at the pace of the child. Otherwise, such talent can prove to be the bane of the child’s existence.

As society caters to the children with special talents, it can unknowingly affect the children who are not “special”. The goal of society is to focus on the well-being of the overall population; it may be counterproductive to hone in a niche of the population. It could cause a dearth of resources to the general population. Consequently, training those with special talents should not be prioritized overall those with ordinary talents.

In summation, I am mostly in agreement with the recommendation. However the training for the specially talented children should be provided but not enforced to ensure the child is freely able to develop in the way they choose. The education should also not take away from those who are not “special” to ensure society is still keeping the best in mind for its future.