Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents

We have often heard the inspirational phrase that ‘You are the best at being you’. Every child is unique in their own way. The prompt recommends that the society should identify children with special talents and train them at an early age to hone those skills. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that society should do a better job at identifying talent in children for two reasons.

To begin, generic training doesn’t particularly help children. ‘One shoe does not fit all’. Since early childhood up to adolescence, all children are roughly provided the same training irrespective of their natural talents. For instance, a student who might be exceptional at dancing is forced to study mathematics and science even he doesn’t find any joy in it. Whereas, his dancing might be regarded as a ‘waste of time’ by his teachers and parents which must be curtailed in order to improve his grades. Due to this, the child may start thinking that his passion is wrong and would force himself to quit dancing and spend that time cramming subject information. This may lead to a build up of resentment and frustration inside him which would ultimately affect his self-confidence. He may stop voicing out his inner thoughts in front of his parents and guides for the fear of being reprimanded and become a closed book. If such a scenario occurs, it would lead to the child being unhappy as well as his talent not being developed. Instead of pursuing a career in a thing that he loves and brings him delight, he might find himself struggling in another course which he abhors, thus ultimately lowering his quality of life.

Further, not developing such talents leads to a wastage of potential. The child might be a prodigy in their respective field which could in future, if he is trained properly, bring him, his family, and even his country, honour and pride. For instance, if Sachin Tendulkar would not have received cricket training in his teen years and instead been forced to pursue engineering, would the world of cricket ever have received such a gem? Sachin’s family and teachers recognized his potential and encouraged him to pursue his talent diligently, which enabled him to become a legend in the sport and inspire millions of other children with such a dream. By listening to his heart and working tirelessly on what he truly excelled at, he was able to bring glory to his country. Had he not worked on his talent and pursued generic academic training, the world might currently not even know his name.

Of course, some argue that in our increasingly globalized economy competition for jobs has vastly increased and thus it is pragmatic that we pursue practical paths. But shouldn’t this precisely be why children’s inherent talents should be acknowledged and they should be trained accordingly? So that they can compete in this cut-throat world efficiently, carve out a niche for themselves, and do the best job possible.