All too often companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees such consultants would be unnecessary Write a response in which you discuss

Consulting is a highly sought after job profile today due to its lucrative pay as well as interesting and dynamic work. Organizations pay the consultants sizeable fees for them to analyze a specific problem and advise the company on how to go about in solving it.The prompt recommends that instead of hiring outside consultants, if companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the above statement and argue that outside consultants are often beneficial to the company due to two reasons.

Firstly, the consultants are experts in their respective fields having many years of experience in dealing with typical organizational issues under their belt. They have worked in and observed the industry for a long time and hence have empirical experience on which strategies work best for a particular problem. They can often give such valuable advice to the company which, if followed properly, could help the company generate millions in profit. The fees that these consultants receive is compensated more than enough in such scenarios. For instance, a company might be having regular logistic issues due to which they have losses piling up. Here, an experienced consultant could quickly determine the root cause of their issues and suggest steps to rectify the same, thus providing immense saving to the company in terms of sales as well as worker hours that would have been spent in cleaning up the mess.

Further, people that are part of the organization, that is, the employees, may often have a clouded or biased view. They might not be able to zero in on the actual problem as clearly as an outside consultant might. The employees might also have a personal involvement which could lead to a conflict of interest. In such a case, the outside consultant might swiftly find the solution to the issue which the employee himself might not reveal to the management. For instance, the company could be facing losses due to overpaying some of its employees for a particular work. Here, despite knowing that they are receiving a more than fair compensation, the employees might not bring it to the notice of the management due to their vested interests. An outside consultant would be able to communicate this error to the appropriate authorities after carefully studying the organization's financials.

However, it is also important for a company to spend time listening to their own employees. This is because worker discontentment could directly lead to a loss of productivity, which in turn, would affect the company's operations. In such a case, it would be unnecessary to hire a consultant and listening to their employees' woes and addressing them would directly benefit the company. For example, the employees might not be able to function efficiently due to long hours and a regular lack of sleep. Here, the management could reduce the shift hours and provide rest to the employees, which would in turn improve their energy levels while working, as well as make them happy, which would result in an increase in their productivity.

To conclude, outside consultants are helpful in a plethora of situations for the company and listening to their expert opinions could greatly profit the company. But it is also important for a company to listen to their employees and determine if their issue could be solved within the organization itself. Thus, an organization should adopt an open door approach where employees can communicate their grievances to the management effectively, while also taking the assistance of experts when required, to boost their operational efficiency.