All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Companies should follow both the approaches to achieve the desire result. Hiring a outside consultant is a good action on the part of the company as this provides them with a nuetral view which is not biased towards any one side and analyzes the pros and cons for each side fairly. Every company wants to ensure that its output keeps increasing while the expenditure is minimised so as to maximise the profit. To convert this goal to a reality, the companies hire consultants, who review the process employed by a company and assess its efficiency on various parameters before recommending a series of actions, which the company should enact to either continue its current efficiency or increase it. He/she can also suggest some new practices which can be implemented by the company to achieve the desired output. Companies refer to such process as an audit and it helps them in planning their goals in the near future. Consultants provide a nuetral or an independent view as they neither have a financial affiliation to the company nor are they employed by the organisation. This helps them in presententing a nueral assessment of the company and they can also recommend tough calls on both ends of the spectrum i.e. Top management and employees if required. One example of companies hiring consultants can be found in Japan. Post the world war 2, Japan was in a very terrible state economically after the nuclear bomb explosion in Hiroshima and Nagasaki; their companies were also struggling to find business opportunities due to the effect of the US domination of the global economy. In such a scenario, Toyota hired a consultant who was an expert in economics Edward Deming and requested him to assess the process in the organisation and recommend improvements. Deming presented them a 14-point recommendation which was then implemented by Toyota to increase the efficiency of the process, the employee output and the reduce the loss of time, energy and resouces the company had been dealing with. This made them a world leader and enabled them to compete in the global markets effectively. Before Consulting such experts however, companies should also take a feedback from its own employees as they have a detailed knowledge of the process and can provide with helpful insights which the top manangement can then ponder upon. As employees are a part of the process they can point out its shortcomings early which can help in reducing its impact on the company in the later stage. Employees can also be trained as consultants by a company which will ensure that the study is done at par with the level that an outside consultants will operate at. Many Multinational Corporations have started with such ideas where they take anonymous surveys from their employees and ask them to review their process and recommend improvements if they have any or suggest new moodifications which are beneficial for the company as a whole. This also helps the top management identify issues which employees might be facing that would be hampering their output. Such audits will also help to increase the transparency in the organisation and will ensure effective communication between all level of employees. To conclude, companies should follow both approached to achieve the maximum efficiency as an inner view provided by the employees will help them address some of the shortcomings which will be highlighted by the consultant. Such a process will also be welcomed by the employees as they will feel values and put more effort into their work.