The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news

and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints

received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news.

In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the

program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time

devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This is a argument presented between two sides, one is the issue of financial loss incurred by the television station due to the increased time in the national news in the late night news program and the other is the viewer complaints of decreased covergare of weather and local news.

Financial loss or revenue loss can be partially explained by the fact that local businesses would only advertise if they were sure that their efforts were reaching the right sector of people i.e. consumers. They advertise for the people residing in the region who have the easiest access to their businesses. This is a win-win model as both the sides - Businessmen and television - station are benefitted from this. People can agrue that the advertisement can be shown during the national news segment but that would mean that the businessmen would be unsure if their efforts are finding the intended results. Late-night news program also is a time when majority of people complete their dinner and tune in to television to get updated about the news and the next day's weather, so they will surely watch the advertisements. A simple way to observe the revenue loss would be to check the finances of the previous year and year when the time devoted to the weather and local news was at its former level.

Viewer complaints arise from the fact that people like to the weather to expect the next day and they become mentally prepared. They are updated about their local news and don't have to go to any external sometimes unverified source for it.

Hence, in the view of aforementioned arguments, the suggestion is given to restore the weather and local news to its former level which would facilitate the revenue back into the television station and also reduce the complaints.