“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they

enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

Students form an important part of the future of a nation and the quality of education provided to them by the nation is fundamental to its growth and advancements in the future. Majority of the developed nations have high literacy rates (~80%) which facilitate their advancements in various fields ranging from technological advancements to providing a high standard of living to all its citizens. I agree that students should be required to study the same curriculum till a certain stage but it should not be a compulsory thrust onto them and it should be left to their interests as to what they should be allowed to pursue further in their lives. For example, if a child likes science and wants to pursue a career in the same, then he/she should not be forced to study subjects like languages which he/she may not like.

Till the students are in middle schools they should be taught the same curriculum and they should give equal focus on each subject which will help them in selecting a career of their liking. This will ensure that they have a chance to study all the subjects in the curriculum and it will broaden their thinking ability and help them transform into intelligent adults. Parents should be made an integral part of this teaching-learning process as they are the biggest influencers of a child and hence, if they can help the child give equal importance to all the subjects then he/she will be able to select a good career ahead.

A common curriculum will also streamline the training which a person undertakes to become a teacher. If the curriculum is the same, then the teachers will have to study only that parts and their training time will get short. One potential flaw which this system can present is that, if the curriculum is not updated from time to time, then the students will not be updated about the latest trends in the subjects and will be at a disadvantage when they are exposed to the professional side. One example of this can be observed in the engineering syllabus in some developing countries, if the industry has upgraded and students are unaware then they take some time to grasp the changes when they join the industry.

To conclude, this is a very good initiative to provide an equal quality of education to all the students across the nation and the only care which should be taken is to update the database as and when required