Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Saving the lives of people and improving their immunity is a goal towards which all the administrations are working. When a disease spreads out in an area which has not been previoulsy encountered, people are unsure on how to react and the authorities are also contemplating on which measures to deploy so as to achieve minimum infection from the disease and if possible, eradicate it completly.

Cow flu is a disease which if encoutered, can prove fatal. There have been multiple options to develop a vaccine which will increase the immunity of the people and help them with first, not contacting the disease and second, if contacted fight the disease and emerge victorious. The research and development process of a vaccine is a very tricky procedure and if not done properly has the potential to increase the spread of the disease rather than culminate it.

For a vaccine, scientists inject a healthy person with a weakend sample of the pathogen which causes the disease. The weak nature of the pathogen allows the body to produce anti-bodies to defeat the pathogen and hence, it equips body to fight the same pathogen again if the person injected is affected by the disease. But before we reach the human trials, there is step where the vaccine is administered in animals to check their response and the defense they would present if contacted by the same pathogen. The animal trials determine whether the vaccine will progress to human trials or not. Even in human trials, the vaccine needs to be administered to a wide range of people across different age groups and having different genetic configuration in them. This helps the scientists as it gives them the probable response which people might generate and also to improve the vaccine by giving it some tweaks if required.

After all this research and development, there still a chance that the vaccine may lead to improper response against the actual disease or aggravate its effect on the body as each and every person is different and their responses will definetly vary when contacted with the disease, this is the reason the producers also add drugs to quell the symptoms which might rise in majority of population when they are administered with the vaccine some common symtoms can include fever, which is a sign that the body is fighting against the foreign object injected by the vaccine.

Even after all the precautions which are taken by the authorities there always lies a chance that people might die when they are administered with the vaccine, these include people who have a weak immunity system like people with underlaying problems like heart disease or diabetes or aged people. If the vaccine is administered repeatedly the count of such people can increase and force the administration to stop the inocultion program. The severity of the disease and efficiency of the vaccine are the pivotal factors in the decision of the authorities to cancel or continue with the inoculation.

To conclude, the death of people due to vaccine administration should be weighed against the deaths occurred due to contacting the disease which is cow flu in the given case. The administration should consider the loss of few for gain of many if the situation becomes very severe and may lead to a partial/complete devastation of the livelihood of people and their health, the call should taken to prevents maximum damage and keep as much people healthy as possible.