The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing During the past year Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on the job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant where the work shifts are one hour shorter than our

In the memo from the vice president, it is stated that the company should shorten each of their three work shifts by one hour so that employees can get adequate amounts of sleep which would result in reduction of the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot Manufacturing. The vice president has come to this conclusion based on experts’ opinion that fatigue and sleep deprivation are significant contributing factors in on-the-job accidents. Also, Quiot had 30% more accidents than the nearby Panoply Industrial Plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter. Here, the following assumptions need to be examined.

Firstly, it is assumed that the work force size of both, Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industrial plant, is comparable. It is possible that the number of employees at Quiot Manufacturing greatly exceeds that of Panoply. Consequently, even having 30% more on-the-job accidents than Panoply could indicate better safety standards on part of Quiot. For instance, Quiot might have 1000 employees and Panoply could have 300 employees. If Panoply suffered 10 on-the-job accidents and Quiot suffered 30% more, that is, 13 on-the-job accidents, in terms of percentages, the safety performance of Quiot was far better than Panoply’s. If this scenario has merit, it significantly weakens the evidence based on which the conclusion of the argument is formed.

Secondly, it is assumed that both Quiot and Panoply have similar industry risk standards. It might be that Quiot belongs to a high-risk industry which is more prone to on-the-job accidents and Panoply belongs to an industry where the chances of on-the-job accidents are relatively lower. For instance, Quiot might belong to construction equipment manufacturing sector, where it is quite possible for workers to get injured due to the inherent safety risk present in heavy duty machinery manufacturing, whereas Panoply manufactured notebooks, where the risk for on-the-job accidents is pretty low. If the above is true, the argument again gets significantly weaker.

Lastly, it is assumed that the employees of Quiot Manufacturing will use that extra hour for sleeping. It is possible that they instead use this time for other purposes such as running errands, entertainment, etc. In this case, the extra hour given to them won’t reduce the on-the-job accident risk as per the argument. For example, the employee might use that extra 1 hour to go for shopping, or he might spend it walking in the park. If this is true, the argument doesn’t hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the vice president is able to clarify all the above assumptions and offer more evidence in support of his claim by providing additional information on both the companies and the employees’ intentions on how they plan to utilize that extra hour, then it might be possible to accept his argument.