The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree wi

We have often heard the phrase 'United we stand, divided we fall'. Throughout history, one can find recurring events adhering to this motto. The prompt recommends that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this stance for two reasons.

Cooperation increases our strength multifold. People frequently encounter challenges that are tedious to overcome by themselves, but which become much easier to solve with helping hands. A leader sets the tone of the culture amongst the team working under him, so it is important for him to have a sense of cooperation ingrained within, for it to reflect in his team. Many invaluable innovations in mankind's history would not have been possible if it was not for cooperation between the contributing members. For instance, the International Space Station is a huge project that has come to fruition because of the combined work of multiple space agencies around the world. If the leaders of these nations would have let their competitive nature take over them and tried to sabotage each other in order to be the best, we could never have built such an outstanding facility.

Additionally, cooperation also lets us achieve the greater good. If each individual worked by only bearing in mind selfish concerns, the unit as a whole would seldom make substantial progress. It is important for a team that is working towards a common goal to help each other and keep the bigger picture in focus, rather than vying for individual glory. For instance, the captain of a cricket team should inculcate a culture of unity and selflessness in the squad. Personal milestones should not have a place above the benefit of the team. If a bowler is bowling well and winning the game for his team, his fellow bowler should not try to undermine him. This will ultimately lead to the upliftment of the team which would not have occurred if each of the members only cared for their own concerns.

However, it is true that some sense of competition is necessary to be developed in the youth. We live in a cut-throat world that often employs the use of the phrase 'Survival of the fittest'. The youth should understand that they will often unwillingly have to participate in rat races during the flourishing of their careers and it is important to gain a competitive edge at that point. For instance, millions of students appear for entrance exams every year and only a handful get admitted into their desired courses. If the students don't strive to be the best in such situations, they will surely get left behind. Moreover, it is true that leaders should have a sense of cooperation, but it is also a fact that only one person gets to be the leader.

In conclusion, the youth should be prepared for healthy competition in their lives but it is important for them to have unity and join forces so that they can perform those tasks efficiently that they couldn't accomplish alone. It is prudent to have a balance between these two aspects of personality and employ them as per the situation.