Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations we cannot permit i

In the prompt, it is stated that routine administration of inoculations against cow flu cannot be permitted. This is declared on the basis of the fact that there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations. However, the argument made here has some unexamined factors which must be evaluated, before determining its merit.

Firstly, the percentage of fatalities that might occur due to the inoculations has not been mentioned. This is very important because if it affects only a minute fraction adversely, it might be worth considering administering the inoculation to the masses. This is because not inoculating anyone could result in a loss of lives which might be manyfold of this fraction. For instance, if the inoculation is proved fatal for only 0.01% of the people who have been administered the dose, and not inoculating anyone results in a 1% death among the population residing in the affected area, it is pragmatic to initiate the inoculation programme because it would result in the saving of a lot more lives than what would occur in the absence of the programme. If the above scenario is true, the argument is significantly weakened.

Further, the factor of co-morbidities has not been mentioned. It might happen that the inoculation only proves fatal for people suffering from particular co-morbidities. Such people could then be removed from the inoculation group and the rest of the population can be safely administered. For instance, it might happen that the inoculation proves fatal for people who are suffering from diabetes. The inoculation might react with their body in a way that is not suited for their condition and hence proves fatal for them. So it is necessary that this factor be examined for the effective evaluation of the argument, which would get weakened if the above scenario is true.

Lastly, the age group and demographic of the inoculation recipients have not been mentioned. It might be that the inoculation adversely affects a particular age group or a certain demographic of people based on their genetics. For example, the inoculation might prove fatal for senior citizens as their bodies might not be able to recover from the effects of the inoculation, whereas the immune system of younger people could efficiently recover in a short time. It might also be harmful for a particular demographic, such as people with high melatonin content in their skin might be harmfully affected by the inoculation. In such a case too, it would be prudent to isolate specific people and administer the inoculation for the remaining population, to save a maximum number of lives. This factor needs to be properly analyzed before the argument could be evaluated, as this too, would weaken the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to lack of evidence and absence of a systematic research study. If the above factors are meticulously analyzed, it would be possible to evaluate the argument effectively based on the results.