The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any ot

In the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, it is stated that a greater budget share for advertising should be allocated because he believes that the contents of Super Screen's movie reviews are not reaching enough prospective viewers. The director has come to this conclusion based on the fact that during the past year, fewer people attended the movies than any other year but the percentage of positive reviews for specific Super Screen movies had increased in that period. However, there are certain questions that need to be answered before evaluating the recommendation.

What was the reason for fewer people attending the Super Screen movies during the past year than in any other year? The director assumes that it is because the public was not aware that good quality movies are available. But it is possible that the prospective viewers read the positive reviews and there are other reasons that they did not see the movie. For instance, it is possible that there was a period of recession during the past year. In such economic conditions, a majority of the population would strive to conserve their funds and cut back their entertainment budgets. If the above situation is true, allocating a greater share of the budget for advertisement is not needed and the director's argument would be weakened.

Did the absolute number of positive reviews increase during the past year? It is mentioned in the argument that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers had increased. However, it is possible that the total number of reviews posted had decreased drastically. For instance, during the past year, the percentage of positive reviews could have increased from 30% to 40%, but the total number of reviews could have fallen from 1000 to 200. This could indicate that there was an issue with the quality of the films and not with the advertisement reach. In this scenario, the director's recommendation doesn't hold water.

What was the number of movies for which the percentage of positive reviews increased? The argument only mentions that the percentage for specific Super Screen movies had increased but doesn't mention the quantity. If the number is very small as compared to the movies for which the percentage of negative reviews had increased, it could explain the viewership discrepancy. For instance, if a single Super Screen movie had an increased percentage of positive reviews but in contrast, ten movies had an increased percentage of negative reviews, it would explain that the public had a negative outlook overall for Super Screen movies. If this is true, it indicates an issue with the quality of the movies and it would not be resolved by increasing the advertisement budget.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to the absence of several key pieces of evidence. If the advertising director is able to answer all the above questions with clarity and provide additional information in support of his claim, it might be possible to assess the merit of his recommendation.