A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to

We have often heard the phrase, "One shoe does not fit all". Generic training doesn't particularly help students. The prompt recommends that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion for two reasons.

Firstly, students have different interests and aspirations. If they are forced to study subjects that they don't have any interest in and it also won't have any bearing on their future professional life, the child's academic performance could drop quickly and in extreme cases, he may also lose the will to learn. This could also result in the lowering of a student's self-confidence drastically. For instance, if a student wishes to become a financial analyst and is not interested in pursuing science, if the education system forces him to study the concepts of chemistry, not only will he struggle with grasping the concepts, it would make him feel incompetent unnecessarily. If he loses his zest for learning in this process, he could potentially miss out on a promising career in his dream field.

Further, the same national curriculum would adversely affect students with special needs. Those with learning disabilities will not be able to easily cope with a syllabus that is of the same extent as other students. This would lead them to feel dejected. A separate curriculum must be designed for such students which is more adapted to their abilities and learning pace. For instance, a student suffering from dyslexia wouldn't be able to ace an English class if he is put in the same boat as everyone else and taught in a generic manner. He would require special training from personnel equipped with suitable knowledge. So it would be beneficial for such students to have a specially curated course for them as opposed to a generic one.

However, it is true that a basic knowledge of certain courses is required for all students. This includes subjects such as elementary mathematics. A working knowledge of algebra will be required in life for virtually all students and so the curriculum of such a course should be designed keeping in mind the students of the whole nation. For example, a person could have a strong predilection for physics and not like studying mathematics. But if he would skip studying it in earlier grades, it would not be possible for him to become proficient in physics later as mathematics would be a prerequisite for his course.

In conclusion, while it would not be beneficial for all students to study the same national curriculum till they enter college, it is true that certain fundamental knowledge has to be imparted to them all. So the policymakers should formulate a strategy that is only generic up to a required extent, and later it should be tailored as per the students' specific needs and interests.