The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is

by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not

competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to

address the most compelling reasons and/or examples

that could be used to challenge your position.

I completely second with author's claim where he states that the best way for a society is to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by promoting cooperation and not competition.

Any field, be it government or the private is not run solely by a single person. For an industry to succeed it requires many workers working simultaneously and cohesively. For a smooth functioning machine, a lot of components has to be present and operated side by side, similarly a government run by a particular party has to appoint several ministers to respectively govern their area of expertise. For example, a finance minister looks into the financial matters of a nation, an education minister overseas the academics of students and institutes provide in a particular nation etc. The above example teaches us that there is no scope of competition inside a party ruling a country. They must compulsorily work harmoniously inorder for the smooth running of a nation.

Similarly in a big company or industry there are a lot of different memebers and employeers which constitutes into running a company smoothly. A big tech giant like Google or Amazon have a board of directors, where each members of the board brings about different ideas of running the company smoothly. This is only possible through cooperation and trust which goes hand in hand. A big industrial company might have a CEO to finalise decisions but he can never be the sole member functioning in it. A company comprising of only a CEO competing with other rivals while launching new technology is never possible. Atleast few subordinates are needed and the work is only possible through cooperation.

Even in the sports industry, a sense of cooperation is well valid. For sporting events which does not necessarily needs to happen in team, a player without its cooperation with its coach can never reach his or her peak level ever.

The best way to instill cooperation early to children is by making them work in group projects, allowing them on group educational tours etc. The faster a child learns to cooperate, the better suited for a job he or she is going to be in real world.

However, completely ignoring competition will be totally wrong. An organisation might be run smoothly through team work but inorder for it to sustain in the market it must have a healthy competition with its rival and keep on improving themselves. The same applies to governments, where without the oppositon party keeping them in check is quite dangerous.

In conclusion we can infer that instilling a sense of cooperation is very important at young age for them to succeed in society in the future and bring society to newer heights as a responsible human being.