The following is a memorandum from the business

manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has

devoted increased time to national news and less time

to weather and local news. During this time period,

most of the complaints received from viewers were

concerned with our station's coverage of weather and

local news. In addition, local businesses that used to

advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore,

in order to attract more viewers to the program and to

avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we

should restore the time devoted to weather and local

news to its former level.?

Write a response in which you discuss what specific

evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain

how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The author via the memorandum from the business manager informs us that over the past year, their late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news rather than on weather and local news.

According to me, although national news is important, more focus should be put towards local news. This should be done so that the people are aware of their surroundings. For example, during the covid-19 pandemic, people would rely on local news for every commodities and supplies which would be available for them locally. These commodities might include daily ration, vaccines etc. Late night news always attracts more viewership than any other time since most of the people are at their home after a day's work and their chores for the day is over.

Weather update at late night is very crucial, for people who travel long distances to work or an educational institute. Weather update late at night would stand mostly accurate than other time of the day for the following day. This news will also prepare a person for the next day through an accurate forecast. For example, if the forecast is for a hot and dry temperature, a person would tend to carry more drinking water. Similarly, if the forecast is for a rainy day, a person might carry a raincoat or an umbrella. Many local businesses of farming which solely depends on weather might find it beneficial as well.

During late-night when everyone is at home and the viewership is moderately high, local business can promote their ventures through advertisements. Its a win-win situation for both the television station as well as the local businesses advertising. The local businessmen can have all of their exposure and the television station can increase their revenue further.

In conclusion, I think if the media outlet devotes more time towards weather and local news late at night it will be beneficial for all. They can still set aside a time for national news but prioritize the former news.