A nation should require all of its students to study the

same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the recommendation

and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, describe

specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous

and explain how these examples shape your position.

A country like India does not follow a strict and same national curriculum for all of its school. It has a divided curriculum which it calls as the boards. There are several boards in India. Mainly there are two standardised national boards, the ICSE and the CBSE. There are different boards for each different states as well in India.

I agree with the author's opinion on having to require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Since the only entrance exam for national universities or colleges takes place under same syllabus. Having more than one national curriculum might be a bane or boon to certain students because the difficulty level of all the boards for example in India is not the same. Various students will be shaped differently on the basis of an unkown difficulty parameter.

Consequently, having an unique national curriculum would also enhance the choices of having students to select, for school. There would be less discrimination between schools as the disparity in syllabus will have been reduced. Public and private schools will have to teach same topics and it will be an upliftment towards equality in society.

Having the same curriculum will also ensure that students are equally prepared for every entrance examination and cannot blame other boards for their lack of preparedness towards a topic. The students of the nation can collectively represent and compare with different nations with respect to academics.

However, sticking to the same academics and curriculum for all would mean that the students will slowly lack creativity. As more and more the syllabus becomes standardised, the competition will be high among students in terms of academics but the thirst of knowledge or to know more will be lacking. This drawback however can be easily tackled by changing the national curriculam for all of its students every few years.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the opinion the author has provided and I certainly hope that one day a country like India makes all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter freshman year in college.