The following is taken from a memo from the

advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing

department, during the past year, fewer people attended

Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.

And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie

reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually

increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of

these reviews are not reaching enough of our

prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the

quality of our movies but with the public's lack of

awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share

of its budget next year to reaching the public through

advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions

would need to be answered in order to decide whether

the recommendation and the argument on which it is

based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the

answers to these questions would help to evaluate the

recommendation.

According to the memo from the production company, fewer people have watched their movies than in other years. The production company believes that it is due to the lack of adverstisement and good reviews not reaching prospective viewers.

While the marketing department of the Super Screen Movie Production Company states that the increase in percentage of positive reviews by reviewers is directly proportional to the increase in viewership, which is not at all true. People know that many production companies pays reviewers to publish positive reviews in order to increase revenue, so it can never be infered whether increase in positive reviews is directly proportional to increase in viewership.

The production house fails to answer whether the decrease in viewership might be due to the recent pandemic. A lot of people are still afraid of infection and avoid public areas like movie theatres.

Due to the increase in online digital entertainment platforms like Netflix, Prime Videos etc, the company's marketing department fails to consider that people love watching soaps or movies at home at their convenience and this might be the reason for decrease in viewership.

The marketing department also fails to issue the address on when the movies was released and the genre of the movies, the production house caters to. For example, almost all the movies is applicable to age groups 18-30 years where half the age group is still studying. It might be possible that the movie was launched during their annual examination where a student had no choice but to ignore it. Again releasing a movie during a holiday or festival season, they can earn a lot. So strategic timing for the release of movies is equally important. Also prices of the tickets has not been considered by the marketing department, whether the prices where kept same or increased from the previous years.

The marketing team also ignores the fact that in this digital era piracy is big industry and should take steps to inhibit piracy, which inturn would reduce their viewership as most of the pirated materials are mostly free.

In conclusion we can say that the production company really needs to consider other factors like prices of the tickets, competing with online digital platforms, strategic timing of releasing a movie and eradicating piracy of their materials instead of just allocating a part of their budget to advertisement to increase their viewership.