The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any ot

The memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests that the content of positive reviews from the movie reviewers are not reaching to the prospective viewers of the company's produced movies which has lead to a decrease in the number of people to have attended their movies last year even after the increased percentage of positive reviews by the reviewers. The conclusion highlights how this is the fault of advertising strategy rather than the quality of movies. Upon analyzing the memo, there are two questions that needs to be answered before drawing this conclusion.

The memo says that the positive reviews by reviewers have increased for specific movies. Is it a good way to generalize this growth of positive reviews for all the movies produced by the company? There might be a possibility that there are a very few specific movies that got greater positive reviews. The poeple might have watched all such movies but for those movies whose percentage of increase or decrease of reviews has not been mentioned might have recieved critisism by the reviewers. The

percentage comparison for any two quantities should be fair. For instance, a group of dancers might contain majority of girls and only a few boys. One cannot infer on such basis that fewer percentage of boys in the country opt for dancing than girls. Similarly, without knowing the reviews of other movies not mentioned, the argument made by the advertising director weakens.

Moreover, is it neccesary that the viewer's interest in a particular type or genre of movie remain constant? What if the viewers expect to watch something different than what they've seen in the past year? It is a fact that majority of people's interests change as they grow older like that in choice of food and clother, quality of behvior and social and cultural changes. This also holds true for movies. It is nowhere mentioned about the genre or type of movies that were being produced. Noone would like to watch the same sort of movie repeatedly unless they are highly top rated and beautifully showcased. The director does not mention anything about the consistency or variety of movies and the taste of the people which can highly affect the number of viewers of the movie. Thus, not taking this idea into consideration, the argument made by the director weakens again.

Based on the above to questions, it is safe to say that the argument made by the director and the conclusion drawn by him weakens. If these questions are with additonal evidence, it would be possible to reconsider that argument.