A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer

The recommedation states that the entire youth of the nation should study the same national curriculum until they go for their graduation. Every student will be taught the same book with the same set of chapters without regards to what they are interested in. I highly disagree with this recommendation because of three reasonable points.

The time by which students will be in college will be around their end of teenage. This is the time when majority of them have already decided what they want to study and what career do they want for themselves. Without any prior knowledge of a particular field they want to vaguely go for, they will not be able make a proper decision. Considering how in today's world there are end number of fields one can choose from, it would be very difficult for students to choose their field of study without having studied it in detail. Having a proper knowledge and background of what they want to opt for in college will give them an extra hand to excel and make sure that they go for the right career path. Thus, it is necessary to provide them with curriculum that is suitable for their future studies. This arguments highly takes down the weight of the recommendation.

Moreover, not every student is the same. Not only a student but everyone in the world have a variety of choices in every part of their life. These might be the choice of lifestyle they want to adapt, the country they want to live in, food they want to eat and a lot more. Similarly, every student also have their own choices of career. If students are provided a curriculum of study that will help them gain a better understanding of what the future holds for that field, they can make a smarter decision for their career as well as have a strong background of the field of study to help them give in their best.

Lastly, a question arises. What if the students are not enjoying the curriculum: it is highly generalized for every student and thus result in students scoring less and loosing their interest in studying? This is a very crucial case considering how sensitive some students are and how they might react when they do not like something or they won't score well. This is something that should be taken into note to make sure that students do not feel like they are wasting their time and effort for something they do not like and thus loose their overall interest and motive.

Before concluding, it can be suggested that the curriculum remain same until a certain age where all students are taugh the basics of everything but once a certain age is achieved, say 16 years, the curriculum must be designed such that it offers a variety of options for a student to select from to ensure that they are studying what they like and what they likely want to study in their college. These arguments can be taken into consideration and the recommendation can be reframed.