A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer

The given recommendation states that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I would say that i agree with it but with certain modification. I believe all the students should study the same national curriculum until a particular class or standard, post which they should study their specific fields of interest until they enter college. But the specific courses should also be standardized.

To understand why do we need same national curriculum in schools let us take an example of students from two different schools who enter the same college. They enroll for the same class of say English language. The student whose school layed great stress on English would find this course easy, compared to the other student who studied English as a second language. If all the students in the class are not at the same pre-requisite level then the professor of the class would find it difficult to teach the class at a good pace or maybe certain extra classes would have to arranged to help the weaker students grasp the topic better. This will have certain drawbacks. Firstly it will put extra pressure on such students to work harder to compete in the class, they might even feel demotivated and depressed if they fail to do so. Secondly, time and resources will be consumed if extra classes have to be arranged now and then for all the subjects. Hence to avoid such scenarios it would be best to have a standard curriculum in all the schools of the nation.

Now coming to the point of having a common curriculum only till a particular class, post which students should study a specific topic of interest. This is important because students should be prepared for what they are going to study in college. If all students are made to study all subjects and suddenly in college they are taught one chosen feild in very depth, it might become tiresome. Hence the basics of the field should be taught in school before college. But yes here also the curriculum should be same for all schools.

The concept of having same curriculum in all schools can backlash in countries like India where there are many different regional languages. Take the example of a school in a state of India where the child speaks his mother tongue at home with family, but is not taught this language in school as this language is unique in only his state, instead he is forced to learn Hindi and English. He won't use either of these two until and unless he moves out to a Hindi or English speaking area. But this is not the case for any other subject like science or social studies which are axiomatic universally

Hence to conclude that it is important to have the same national curriculum in order for the students to achieve a basic pre-requisite knowledge when they enter college, but it should be restricted only to science and social studies and related subjects and not include languages.