The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is given from a memorandum from a business manager of a television station. It states that the time devoted to weather and local news should be increased and brought back to the time devoted last year to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. The following are the evidences required to further check the correctness of the given claim.

It is given that for the past one year the time devoted to national news has been increased and that to weather news and local news has been cut down. We need to understand that why was the change made in first place. Maybe the change was made to attract the viewership of people from other regions or it may have been done due to the request of local people who want to see more national news. It is nowhere stated that such a change has reduced or increased the number of people watching the late-night news program. If this change has been done for the same and has been able to attract more people then it would not be a wise step to cut time given for national news, and hence would weaken the argument.

Continuing in the same direction we need data for the viewership of the late-night news program. If a lot of non-local people watch the show then showing more of local news would not be recommended. This would also weaken the argument. But if the viewership is local people then they would want to see more of the local news and weather news. This then would help to bolster the argument made.

Apart from this it is given that most of the complaints received from viewers were regarding the coverage of weather and local news. It is not distinctly stated that it was about the time alloted to these news. Maybe it was on the quality of content in these news. Maybe the local news shown did not fully cover the details of the news or anything like this. Thus the exact contents of the complaints are required before this data can be used to support the claim.

Another major point stated here is that a lot of local businesses have cancelled their contract with the late-night news program. If local news time reduction is the sole reason for this then it will help us to increase advertisements by increasing local news shown on the program. But there can be various other reasons for this apart from the fact that local news time has been reduced. It can be due to prices charged by the program, bad experience of the businessman while working with the channel or may be they found some other platform to advertise on. If these are the reasons then increasing the time would surely not help to avoid cancellation of the contracts.

So to close the given argument might seem valid but a lot of data is required on the change of time devotion earlier, data on viewer base of the program and reasons for advertisement contract cancellation to support it