Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents However my recent interviews with

According to the article written by Dr. Karp, an anthrologist, the interview-centered approach is more established than the observation-centered approach followed by Dr. Field. It is clear that the author, Dr. Karp, observes a different cultural pattern followed by the children of Tertia. I believe there are two assumptions made by Dr.Karp that questions the validity of Dr. his conclusion.

As mentioned in the article, the research done by Dr.Field was twenty years ago whereas the one done by Dr.Karp is recent. Dr. Karp compares the two research assuming that the culture of Tertia has remained the same even after two decades. Similar to how the cultures of people living in other parts of the world have changed, there might be a possibility that the cultural aspects of the island might have also changed. For instance, till the late 20th century most of the people living in India belonged to a joint family but as the prices of everything rose over the early 21st century, people started shifting to nuclear family. Due to different factors, people tend to adapt thus changing their social and cultural aspects. Thus it is safe to say that this argument weakens the comparison made by the author involving a huge time difference.

Moreover, the author has interviewed children from a group of islands and not just Tertia whereas the research of Dr. Field included children only from the island of Tertia. Here, Dr. Karp assumes that the traditions and the cultural aspects of this group of islands would be similar. This might not be the case. For instance, the children living in India settle with their parents even after their marriage while in the USA the concept is completely different. The children, as soon as they start earning, find their new home. This shows that it is not a correct approach to compare unless there are evidence that proves the similarity between the things that are being compared. Thus it eakens the idea of Dr. Karp comparing the research of children from a group of island to that which involves children from a particular island.

Lastly, Dr. Kalp mentions how his research is better and thus how the observation centered approach for studying the cultures is invalid. On the basis of one experiment that lacks validity to be proven more effective than others, one should not make an assumption for the same in a generalized manner. If one finds a test easy doesn't mean that everyone giving the test will find it equally easy. There should be a variety and a number of more students who finds the test easy to declare the difficulty level of the test. Thus the generalization made by Dr. Kalp does not hold true unless there are strong evidences or more experiments to support this idea.

Thus according to me, the argument made by Dr. Kalp is flawed. If Dr. Kalp could provide evidences for the assumptions made, it would be possible to reconsider the arguement.