Claim No act is done purely for the benefit of others Reason All actions even those that seem to be done for other people are based on self interest

In the modern society, people are being more and more egoistic due to the limited chances and resources. Therefore, more and more discussions about self-interest and altruism are being popular topics and quickly come to a conclusion that because all cations -even those that seem to be done for other people -are based on self-interest, no act id done purely for the benefit of others. However, in my opinion, I disagree with the reason and the claim given.

Admitted, there is no denying the fact that people are becoming more and more indifferent with the surrounding problems because of the rapid pace. They don’t want to waste time and energy on irrelevant person, especially there is no benefit for them. For instance, in China, there are so many actors or celebrities, they always want to be popular or acquire good reputation through doing social voluntary activities.

However, the statement is too pessimistic to discredit the nature of humankind. As we all know, parents play a great and altruistic role in everyone’s life. They always pay everything they have and want to give their children the best living condition, but they don’t require return. Moreover, our best friends, who always company with us and help us overcome the hard situations, don’t demand you to pay back.

In addition, the claim and the reason are too extreme and overlook some exceptional circumstances. In fact, there are so many vocations and practitioners who are sacrificing their life for saving others’ life. For example, during the epidemic of COVID-19, facing the unknown virus and the possibility of infecting, but the nurses and doctors didn’t quail and give up, they undertake the responsibility and assign more priority on patients other than themselves. They are altruistic and didn’t betray their belief of their duty.

All in all, while the overall society is becoming cold and indifferent, we can’t disregard there still are so many people and practitioners, they are not just concerned with their interest, but being altruistic.