The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the author argues that to get adequate amounts of sleep can reduce the number of on-the -job accidents and increase productivity. Although the author lists a variety of reasons, if we take a close examine on these assumptions, it would be unreasonable.

To start off, the author draws his or her conclusion based on the assumption that Quiot has the similar manufacturing environment with Panoply. However, we don’t know if the condition in Panoply is better than Quiot. For example, if Panoply has a better environment and its employees got some professional trains or it has more progressive machines, then it surely has less on-the-job accidents than Quiot, the author’s argument also will be weakened for the assumption proved unwarranted.

Secondly, the author cites the experts’ saying to argue his statement. This is based on the assumption that the experts’ saying is dependable and can be applied to every industry. However, we can’t tell if the suggestions from experts are valid because there is no other information put forward. That is to say, the assumption is unfounded because the experts’ saying is general and we don’t know whether it meets the condition of Quiot.

Last but not least, the author’s statement is highly based on the assumption that if we shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour and employees will use the exceptional time to sleep and have adequate amounts of sleep. But we don’t know whether employees will not do their private things, such as play games or watch tv shows. If they still sleep the same hours, then they may be fatigue and the number of on-the-job accidents will not decrease.

Therefore, the statement is not believable according to the assumptions can be proved unwarranted.