The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this letter, the author argues that Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a better education in public schools than Blue City residents according to the larger amount of spending on public schools in Parson City. However, more evidence is needed to further evaluate the argument.

First, the argument only considered the proportion of its overall tax revenues, but it failed to supply specific evidence about the exact number of costs. If the overall tax of Blue City is higher than Parson City, then it is hard to distinguish which city spent more money on the public schools.

Second, the argument only mentioned that Parson City spent more for its public schools, but we still need more evidence to evaluate this statement, such as the number of public schools and the number of private schools. For example, if Parson City has almost twice as many public schools than Blue City, then it is justified that Parson city also spent more on public schools; otherwise, it will strengthen the argument. If Blue City has more private schools than public schools, then it is likely that they spend less on public schools and they receive funds from businesses or private corporations. Thus, it is unreasonable to conclude that Parson City places a higher value on providing a better education than Blue City in public schools.

Third, it is questionable to evaluate the statement without mentioning the development level between these two cities. More evidence should be offered about the condition of these two cities. If Blue City lies on a low-level development, then it can earn less tax revenues than Parson City. For instance, Blue City needs to assign more proportion of tax revenues to support its residents to improve their living or to support their small businesses. In this case, Blue City spent less for its public schools can be understandable.

Lastly, the argument mentioned that the majority of money spent on the schools came from taxes, but we don’t know if there are other ways to sponsor schools. If Blue City has more charity organizations and accepts a large amount of money for its public schools, the statement would be weakened.

To sum up, if these specific evidences mentioned above are provided, it would be more effective in evaluating the argument.