The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

When teaching, there will be students who behave well in class and others who do not. The recommendation states that those who exhibit positive behaviors should be praised and those who do not behave favorably should be ignored. I agree with the recommendation, however there should be some action taken for those who act negatively.

By praising positive behaviors, it positively reinforces the act and therefore will lead to acts that fall in the same line. This can be exemplified by Skinner’s experiment. When the mouse pushed the correct button, it was rewarded with food which bolstered the favored behavior. This lead to the mouse choosing the correct button more frequently so that they can get food. In the same way, in the classroom, the teacher can praise the student who took initiative to clean the whiteboard. This will not only encourage the student to continue this favorable action, but will illustrate to their peers of what motions are favorable. In doing so, it will result in a decline of unfavorable behavior and increase in positive ones.

In teaching, ignoring negative actions does not help educate the students on proper behavior. If a student decided to speak out in class while the teacher was talking and was ignored, it instead would cause the student to continue interrupting until they were given attention. The act of ignoring would amplify the negative behavior. Instead, the teacher should tell the student that they should raise their hand if they have a question and not interrupt the flow of the class. In doing so, it lets the student know of the negative behavior and how the student can correct it. As a result, it will lead to a decline in the negative behavior, which will be beneficial to the learning environment.

However, by correcting negative behavior it can affect the student’s esteem. If a student is singled out in their behavior, they may feel embarrassed in front go their classmates. This can cause a decline in the student’s self-esteem and may lead to bullying. Although this is unfortunate, the teacher can chose to privately correct the student so that they do not feel attacked in a public setting. This negative reinforcement will help decrease bad behavior while also keeping the student’s image amongst classmates.

In summation, I agree in part with the recommendation. Praising positive behavior will positively reinforce it and encourage others who are exhibiting negative behavior to modify their actions. Instead of ignoring negative behaviors however, teacher should correct the students by educating them of the correct behavior, which will decrease the number of negative acts. This modified recommendation will lead to a nurturing teaching environment.