Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

This is a controversial topic on whether any act is done selflessly or not. This claim is based on the assumption that, that no action, no matter how selfless it looks, carries some selfishness. Indisputably, humans are selfish creatures and most of their actions and interests are aligned with hedonism when presented with no context. Nevertheless, the claims made by the author are based on assumptions that are not bolstered enough and require more revision. Thus, it is not surprising to disagree with the author.

First of all, humans are social in nature. Association with family, friends and other acquaintances keeps them alive both physically and emotionally. Isolation from their own species are resulted with severe depression and self harm. This fact prompts people to make decisions not for themselves but for those around them. To illustrate, imagine a parent of two. When faced with difficulties or opportunities, parents never aspire to be selfish and most of their decisions are beneficial to the children rather to them. This aspect can be stretched to family, friends, partners and other relationships an individual cherishes. Any kind of neglect or selfishness in these relationships are met with immediate and dire repercussions.

Adding to the above example, when a man is given the opportunity for a better job or income, he would most likely weigh his options before jumping the gun. His family's comfortability, financial conditions, co-workers suggestions and generally the opinions of the people around him. All of these reasons may appear selfish at first glance but these reasons are not directly connected him. He inculcates every possible suggestion received in his decisions in order to not to burden the people around him. In a way his decision is to please his relationships. People in the current era survive on approval and association from others. Hence most of their decisions would be to please the people they love or people surrounding them.

Similarly, consider a man who is selfish and never made any decision that does not benefit him. He would be alienated gradually and isolated from the society. Such severe disconnection from the world can result in insanity, jealousy and rage fits. Humans are aware of the effects their actions produce and always remain cautious regarding their plans. Assume a child eating an apple that was brought by his mother. This might be interpreted as an selfish act as he is munching on something that is earned by his mother. But on closer look it can be notices that the child is easing his mother's sense of guilt towards him while the mother is appeasing his son's hunger. If the child has refused to comply with his mothers wishes, he would have met with a disappointed or an angry mother. This scenario could have damages the relationship between the parent and child.

In conclusion, the authors claim that there is no selfless act conducted by humans is based on an flawed assumption and does not stand in many situations. Unless it is modifies or some back ground information is added or some much needed evidence with more statements are added to these claims, they cannot be considered seriously. In fact, the selfless acts that people perform everyday is knitting the society together and helping it towards a better and prospering future.